The Fault of Fate

Posts regarding your character's life before joining the USS Malinche

Moderators: Tournneau, Korath, Kersare

Former Member

The Fault of Fate

Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:19 am

So I have some time on my hands- that and I'm procrastinating sorting out my room before we move away *cough*- and I thought I'd give Teki a more indepth backstory. And it's something to read for those of you who also have time on your hands and nothing better to do. Amateur stuff, I'm afraid, but hey, I'm an amateur writer and need the practice. Starts dark but gets better. Here goes.

In the darkened room of the infirmary, a young Cardassian woman breathed heavily, wracked with pain and grief. A sob shook through her, and her husband tightened his grip on her cold hand.

"It's late, Lorik," she gasped between breaths. "You should rest-"

"I'm going nowhere," Lorik told her firmly. He could scarcely see her through the encroaching gloom. The berth-light pained her tired eyes, and so he strained his to continue ceaselessly gazing at her. He felt, more than saw, her face crease up, and caught a glimpse of light caught in a tear as it broke from her eye. "Luil?"

"What about the boy?" she wept. The sterile cot that was home to the child was situated across the room, so close that they would be able to hear him breathe if only he could do so himself. "Why?" she suddenly spat. "Why can't I be here for him? I should be here!"

"Luil," Lorik whispered. He said nothing else, but gently stroked the back of her hand.

After she had settled a bit, Luil went on, choking out the words. "The doctors aren't giving me straight answers. Tell me what will happen to him."

Lorik blinked a few times and shifted closer, but couldn't see his wife anymore clearly. Watching the place where he knew her face was, he could only think of how he couldn't bear to break her heart anymore. "He will live."